DLG Directs $1M Community Development Block Grant Toward Graves Co.

Press Release - 07/25/2018

Kentucky Flag
FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 25, 2018) – Department for Local Government (DLG) Commissioner Sandra K. Dunahoo attended a groundbreaking ceremony on Tuesday celebrating the expansion of Mayfield Consumer Products, LLC (MCP). The company designs, manufactures and markets private label and branded candles and home fragrance products.

“Gov. Bevin has a vision that Kentucky is going to be the hub for engineering and manufacturing excellence in North America,” Commissioner Dunahoo said during the ceremony. “We are seeing that here today in the product that’s being made and the machinery that’s being used to make the product. That’s an example of our ability – top of the line and best in class. That’s what we do here in Kentucky.”

To aid in the expansion, DLG approved funding for a $1 million Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) to Graves County Fiscal Court on behalf of the Graves County Economic Development Corporation (GCEDC). The federal funds will allow the development corporation to purchase equipment that will be leased to Mayfield Consumer Products, LLC (MCP).

“This expansion will create new products for customers, but it will also create new opportunities for employment in Graves County,” Sen. Stan Humphries said. “I’d like to thank Commissioner Dunahoo and her staff for securing these resources for Graves County. This is certainly a welcome investment.”

“It’s gratifying to see a local and family-owned business receive the support it needs to grow,” Rep. Richard Heath said. “I appreciate DLG’s assistance on this project.”

The CDBG program, overseen by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, provides assistance to communities for use in revitalizing neighborhoods, expanding affordable housing and economic opportunities, providing infrastructure and/or improving community facilities and services.

To learn more about CDBG and other grant opportunities available through DLG, visit kydlgweb.ky.gov.